Living Life to the Fullest

Ramblings of a diverse female

RDR – 100% Completion – Spoiler Alert! June 30, 2010

This afternoon I finished the single player game.

I have to say, the ending was sad and unexpected. SPOILER ALERT! Do not continue reading if you don’t want to know what the ending is.

The mission starts out with John telling his son Jack how well he’s doing around the ranch and that someday it will be his.

A couple minutes later you hear Uncle in the background telling John he needs to come outside.

You can see Uncle through the window

John runs outside and takes the telescope from Uncle. What he sees is not good at all. The army is coming after him.

They run into the house. John tells his family to stay inside. But of course, Jack grabs a rifle and joins his father outside.

After killing a couple dozen soldiers, John and his family make their way to the barn. John tells Jack and Abigail to ride as far away as they can and that he’ll catch up to them. Now at this point I knew something bad was going to happen.

After they ride off, John takes a moment to bow his head. I’m sure he knows what’s in store for him once he walks out the door.

He opens the doors slowly and walks out. About 20 men are waiting for him with their guns aimed and ready to fire.

The game then puts you into slow motion with John pulling his gun and getting off a couple of shots but then he is blasted, blood spurting everywhere.

John finally drops to his knees and falls over. He’s dead. No way! The main character dead!! Does this mean no more RDR ever again?! I can’t believe Rockstar wasn’t going to do a RDR 2 in the future. Plus, how am I supposed to finish the game and get the challenges and trophies I need if John is dead?

Anyway, the federal agent Edgar Moss  is quite pleased with himself and lights a cigar.

After the army turns and walks away, we join Abigail and Jack galloping on the horse. Abigail tells Jack to turn the horse around and head back to the farm. They find John lying on the ground in a pool of blood.

The next scene shows Abigail and Jack standing at John’s grave. I believe he’s buried on their farm at Beecher’s Hope. I can’t believe I haven’t looked for the grave site yet. I’ll have to do that soon.

As that scene fades away, a new scene showing John’s grave appears. You can tell time has passed because the wood is gray and cracked. A man is standing there. You can only see the back of him. He puts on a hat. Hey! Wait a minute! That’s John’s hat and the hair looks just like John’s! Didn’t he die in a hail of bullets? Well, the man turns around and….it’s Jack, wearing his Dad’s hat.

I guess the game isn’t over after all. Whew! Now I’m sure there will be a RDR 2. I’m very happy about that. I’ll say though, Jack’s voice is annoying to me. Not always, but when he says certain things it just sounds awful. I guess I’ll get used to it.

Now I’ve got challenges to complete and multiplayer missions to do so I can get the platinum trophy.

 

Leave a comment